h1

2009 The Year of … The Opening

November 23, 2009

Cause we know how to start a party!

Well it’s been a long time hasn’t it? Anyway, seems like today’s my blogging day as well. Since we’re talking about time, I’d better get straight onto topic. Whatever Anime is gonna have reviews about the past anime year and we’ll start today for the sake of the calendar!

That being said. The first 2009 review post is about … Openings.

A lot of series have played in front of my eyes and ofcourse every series needs a good opening to have an impact on the viewer. Some were good, some were even better! All the writers(or as many as possible) will give their top 10 (or 5) of the year. Since our blog team exists out of a lot of members now, the post will be edited so keep track of it.

Now before I start, I want to say that music preference is a personal thing. However, I’m not only discussing music here, I’m keeping an eye on animation and ofcourse the series itself. Every person has his/her own preference and respecting those will make you earn the same respect for your preference.

To keep us from misunderstandings, we include the 2008 winter season as 2009 this means we’ll be talking about these series :

Winter

Spring

Summer

Fall

Well, I guess everything has been said now. Let’s get started

Kyon’s top 10

10. Zan Sayonara Zetsubou Sensei : Ringo Mogire Beam! – Kenji Ootsuki

Link : http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F10umf-Bvbk

You like Shaft or you hate Shaft, it’s the same with this opening. You love this opening or you hate it. I personally like the song more than the opening itself. It’s a joy to hear Ootsuki scream his “pasword” out loud.

About the third season itself, I was drawn into it once again. It’s fun to watch, though most of the time I don’t understand what they’re talking about. I guess some of you might know what I’m talking about. Still, I like the references and the characters and I hope they’ll continue animating this further.

9. Seitokai no Ichizon : Treasure – Hekiyou Gakuen Seitokai

Kurimi Kurimu for yuu~

Link : http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IqGgapExVaQ

The first fall series in my top, but not the last one. I know it’s because they’re new and still sounding so fresh, but this song will stick in my list for a long time. Not only because of the song, but because I’ve grown to like this series so much that I can’t get enough of it. The animation itself is topnotch and I like how they give every girl a season (which you can see in the very first seconds of the opening).

I don’t think I really have to discuss the season, just click on Seitokai no Ichizon on the right.

8. Kimi ni Todoke : Kimi ni Todoke – Tanizawa Tomofumi

Link : http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6hYGMVgMJC8

Whoopsie, here’s the second fall song already! I can’t help it but this song has a really feel-good feeling to it and Sawako’s just too cute to ignore anyway. The animation is really good here. The watercolors and the colorful backgrounds really made me like this series, then I haven’t even started about the story. Anyway this one deserves to be at 8, believe it!

7. Bakemonogatari : Staple Stable – Saitou Chiwa

Link : http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ez1ip-b8eXI

Preformed by miss Senjougahara herself. The opening itself isn’t that special, but the series really pushed high onto spot 7. There were several openings for Bakemonogatari so it was kinda hard to get used to it. Still this one is my favorite of them all since this song really gives a “face” to the series. I should also mention that Shaft is behind this series again. They like to play with 3D footage and “photoshop” it a bit into a nice animation.

6. Umineko no Naku Koro ni : Katayoku no Tori – Shikata Akiko

A bit of Beato to brighten up your day~

Link : http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IWlVgLddY3o

There’s no going around Umineko. The second adaption of the “… no Naku Koro ni” games is a popular hit this year. The opening is epic and whether you like latin chanting or not, the animation itself should already blast you from your seat. I like Studio DEEN’s animation quality a lot (especially Seitokai then) and if that’s not enough to convince you, then just watch the series. Place 6 is done, let’s enter the top 5.

5. Kurokami : tRANCE – GRANRODEO

Link : http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EAo3lYTK5FY

The first upbeat song in my list. I really liked this song and after the Chief told me about it, it motivated me to marathon the series (though it happened several weeks later…). I don’t really have much else to say about the song, but the series is really recommendable for those who haven’t watched it yet. Lots of action as the opening implies, but a good storyline and really good seiyuu preforming in here.

4. Higashi no Eden : Falling Down – Oasis

Link : http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lwLsw9MlzJQ

Yeah, I’m surprised too… an English song in my top 5?! Still, the song and animation are superb. Higashi no Eden was probably the most renewing anime of the year. An original plot, a futuristic, yet modern day world with a theme that’s very a present-day theme : terrorism. I’m already looking forward to the movies which are coming out this winter (or at least one of them?) I hope Oasis will preform the theme song for those as well. Really, this one fits in my list this year.

3. Asura Cryin 2 : Alternative – angela

Link : http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lthmZ6CXiac

Top 3! Definitely worth it for me. The series itself is still going on, but in the opening are certain spoilers so if you haven’t watched the first season, it might be a bit spoiler-ish. Anyway, Asura might not have to best animation, but it really knows how to entertain. The song starts slow, but goes into climax later on. I think it depends on whether you like Atsuko’s voice or not, but I’m a fan of the song.

2. Hayate no Gotoku!! : daily-daily Dream – KOTOKO

Cause a bit of random Hina service is good for you!

Link : http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Gvtk0pTcC1Y

Well, for me there’s not much to explain about this song nor the series. It just proves that JC Staff can turn anything they touch into moe moe gold. The opening is better than Wonder Wind for me since I prefer KOTOKO and upbeat songs with a catchy tune to them.  As for the series… why don’t you ask the Chief?

Unfortunately for this song, there’s one song that even beats this when it comes to upbeat and catchy…ness.

1. To Aru Kagaku no Railgun : only my railgun – fripSide

Just what did I just say about JC Staff? Anyway, yes this is my number 1 simply because the beat drives me crazy every time I listen to it. FripSide might be known to some of you for doing the Koihime Musou songs, but this is a level higher. The animation for the opening is avarage I guess, there’s still a lot happening in Railgun and probably a second opening will follow soon. But, this song is for 2009’s best.

Look forward to more~

Kyon, at your service~

Deredere Hina’s Top 10 Opening Themes:

Well, as a request by Kyon, here’s my Top 10 opening themes for this year. Although it’s still not December (it’s almost, anyway), I’ll provide this list because I don’t think it’ll change anytime soon. I only really listen to them so I don’t mind the OP videos much.

10. Kanashimi Rensa by MARIA (from Valkyria Chronicles: Gallian Chronicles [OP2])

Although the video was not updated with the arrival of Zaka to replace Isara, I like this OP because I like upbeat songs the best. Although I have nothing much to say, it’s a good song.

9. Kimi Shinitamou Koto Nakare by May’n (from Shangri-La [OP1])

I love that boomerang...

There is no denying that May’n’s songs are awesome. This is no exception. I gotta finish this series…

8. tRANCE by GRANRODEO (from Kurokami: the Animation [OP2])

The quick song… the updating OP video… It’s a step up from the first OP (sympathizer by Kuribayashi Minami). It made the awesome effects to the series’ awesome latter half. It was a fitting song for the improving action for the second half of Kurokami.

7. HEKIREKI by LAST ALLIANCE (from Hajime no Ippo: New Challenger [OP1])

You may remember LAST ALLIANCE from Ouran Koukou Host Club’s ED1 (Shissou) which is also a nice song. It’s a fun song. I can’t find the right words to describe songs. That reminds me, I still have to finish this series…

6. JAP by abingdon boys school (from Sengoku Basara [OP1])

ABS has totally cool songs. This one, accompanied by the dancing Japanese samurai troops, is a favorite. An English version was released through Tokyo Magnitude 8.0’s OP single (also by ABS). Another series I haven’t finished yet… where, oh where are the subs?

5. Hologram by NICO Touches the Walls (from Fullmetal Alchemist: Brotherhood [OP2])

I like this better than OP1 (again by Yui) and OP3 (Golden Time Lover by Sukima Switch). It sounds so epic alongside ED2 (LET IT OUT by Fukuhara Miho). It’s like every episode is wrapped by epicness with those two songs around.

4. Tsukiakari no Michishirube by stereopony (from DARKER THAN BLACK: Ryuusei no Gemini [OP1])

Just as Minatsu likes to say... FIGHT!!

Although I preferred ABS in the OP of DtB, this is a good song on its own.

3. Alternative by angela (from Asura Cryin’ 2 [OP1])

The first OP I was obssessed about in this season. It was so nice and it goes fast, just the way I like it.

2. daily-daily Dream!! by KOTOKO (from Hayate no Gotoku!! 2nd Season [OP2])

Hayate no Gotoku! is not complete without KOTOKO after all. ELISA‘s Wonder Wind wasn’t much my type as the OP1. This one’s a step above it. I also liked KOTOKO’s songs from the first season.

1. Touen Ketsugi -Touen no Chikai- by Katakiri Rekka (from Shin†Koihime Musou [OP1])

Name them all... I dare you!

Katakiri Rekka as in from Higurashi no Naku Koro ni’s ED1 (why or why not). I dunno, but I started to like this song after hearing Alternative over and over. It’s really cool. It’s also fun to see such an amazing action OP from something like Koihime†Musou.

How’s the pink? Crazy to the eyes, huh?

So yeah, look how many times I’ve used the same adjectives over and over. I don’t know how to describe music but this is my list.

This ends my whole seasonal OP rankings. Gosh, I didn’t know I’ve been watching this long now… How time flies by quickly.

This is the Bunny Chief, over and out!

3 comments

  1. Regarding Bakemonogatari, I much preferred the 4th Opening Renai Circulation http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=or9h2lm5ZJQ . Nadeko is just so cute, and to think, they made this with bare amount of staff and time.


    • That’s a skillful answer to a difcfiult question


    • You’ve captured this perfectly. Thanks for taking the time!



Leave a Reply

